2015 Student Award of Merit

SWCS_Student_Award Application_2015

Latornell Logo

[update: links have been verified in this posting]

Do you know of an aspiring student in conservation? Would they benefit from the assistance and networking opportunity provided by the Arthur D. Latornell Award of Merit?

Please pass along this website and the application for the 2015 A.D. Latornell Award of Merit to these students. This award was founded and is awarded annually by the Ontario Chapter of SWCS. The A.D. Latornell Award of Merit Program recognizes and celebrates Art’s commitment and service to our Society and Ontario. Art was involved in virtually every aspect of resources conservation during his lifetime and was a role model for many beginning a career in conservation. This Award also provides significant publicity for the Chapter and helps promote the mission of the Society.

Students enrolled in college, Bachelor’s or Master’s programs in natural resources sciences and management are eligible. Ph.D. students are not eligible. There have been award winners from a wide range of disciplines in the past. Consider promoting to worthy students you have hired in the past.

Due date to receive applications is September 21, 2015.

The award winners are announced at the A.D. Latornell Conservation Symposium in Alliston, Tuesday November 17, 2015. Award winners are provided registration to attend that day to receive their award, as well as $600 and a year’s membership in SWCS.

A review of the Chapter’s A.D. Latornell Award of Merit Program was undertaken last year and it was decided to discontinue the professional (non-student) award in order to sustain the award and focus on young people in the field, whom Art took a particular interest in mentoring and developing. Additional changes may be considered for next year. If you are interested in setting the future direction for the award or in helping evaluate this year’s applications please contact Award Committee Chair, Pamela Joosse at pamjoosse@gmail.com.

Please help promote the award to make sure those worthy of Art’s legacy are considered.

Pamela Joosse
Award Committee Chair